Home News 2016 L’Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science Awards holds in Paris

2016 L’Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science Awards holds in Paris


On March 24, the international scientific community will gather for the 18th edition of the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards to celebrate five exceptional women scientists and their groundbreaking work, as well as 15 promising young researchers.

In the face of unprecedented global challenges, from climate change to healthcare to sustainable energy, their discoveries are offering new solutions and answering vital questions. They are proving time and time again that women in science have the power to change the world.

This year, five brilliant women are recognised from each of the following regions: Africa and the Arab States, Asia-Pacific, Europe, Latin America and North America. The five Laureates were nominated by more than 2,600 leading scientists and then selected by an independent and international jury of 13 prominent scientists in the global scientific community.

Professor Elizabeth H. Blackburn, 2008 Laureate L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science, 2009 winner of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, is this year’s President of the jury and the first woman to be at the head of the Jury in the history of the Awards.

The five Laureates will be awarded on March 24th at the Grand Amphitheatre of the Sorbonne in Paris and will receive a prize of €100,000 each to reward their contribution to science:

They are Professor Quarraisha Abdool Karin, CAPRISA, Nelson R Mandela School of Medicine, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa for controlling the spread of HIV.

Professor Hualan Chen, Harbin Veterinary Research Institute, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, Harbin, China for protecting lives from deadly flu viruses

Professor Andrea Gamarink, Molecular Virology Laboratory, Fundación Instituto Leloir, Conicet, Buenos Aires, Argentina for limiting the spread of dengue virus.

Professor Emmanuelle Charpentier, Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology, Berlin, Germany for reinventing genetic research

Professor Jennifer Doudna, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, University of California, Berkeley, United States for reinventing genetic research.

For Professor Blackburn,the “2016’s laureates bring an extraordinary vision and immediate solutions to major human health issues, encompassing HIV, avian flu or dengue fever and have revolutionized genome editing, enabling precise ‘rewriting’ of the DNA genetic code. All their careers are exceptional, their discoveries truly new, and they epitomize top-level research.”

This year, to raise awareness and bring visibility to women in science who are changing the world, an International campaign will be launched on March 16th. Among other actions, millions of people on the streets of Paris and travellers passing through the Charles de Gaulle and Orly airports will discover two unique exhibitions of the five Laureates, thanks to exclusive partnerships with JCDecaux and Aéroports de Paris.