Home Metro Amosun’s chief of staff, sports commissioner, others resign

Amosun’s chief of staff, sports commissioner, others resign


The chief of Staff to Governor Ibikunle Amosun, Tolu Odebiyi; Commissioner for Youth and Sport, Afolabi Afuape and some aides have resigned.

Others included Messrs. Lanre Edun; Tola Banjo; Bolanle Gbeleyi; Muse Lamidi; Bayo Adeyemi; Sunday Bamiwola; Dewunmi Onanuga; and Sola Arobieke.

This was confirmed in a statement signed by the Director of Administration & Supplies, Bureau of Political Affairs & Administration, Office of the Governor, Mr. Samuel Oluwasanmi on Friday, formally accepting the Notice of Disengagemen.

Oluwasanmi said that the officials have requested to disengage immediately, to enable them pursue their respective political ambitions.

He thanked them for their services to the State and also wished them well in their future endeavours.

This is even as four members of the  Ogun State House of Assembly on Thursday, defected from the All Progressive Congress (APC) to the Allied Peoples Movement (APM).

The Speaker, Mr Suraj Adekunbi read the defection letters of the members during plenary in Abeokuta.
Those defectors were, Mr Adeyinka Mafe representing Sagamu1, the Majority Leader, Idowu Olowofuja representing  Abeokuta South11,  the Chief Whip, Ganiyu Oyedeji representing Ifo 11 and Tunde Sanusi, representing Obafemi Owode.
The lawmakers in there separate letters stated that party injustice during the primary elections to elect the APC party candidates in the state was responsible for there defection.
They accused the APC National Working Committee (NWC) of Injustice, saying there was need to join a new platform .
The lawmakers noted that they took the decisions after due consultation with there constituents and there supporters.
Oyedeji stated in his letter that despite his decampment he still pledged his loyalty to President Muhammadu Buhari’ reelection and would continue to support Gov. Ibikunle Amosun.
In his response, the speaker wished them well in there new party.
Mr Olakunle Oluomo (APC-Ifo1), the Deputy Speaker, stated order 10 of the House rule, which stated that the ruling party  must present the majority leader.
He stated that the APC still has 13 and deserved the right to produce the majority leader, saying that the majority leader should resign from the office after his defection.
The Speaker, however, stated that the issue would be ironed out at the caucus level.