Home Art ANA approves 3 new fellowships for writers

ANA approves 3 new fellowships for writers

From left; Odia Ofeimun, Prof Soyinka, Mahmood Ali-Balogun and Tope Babayemi

The National Executive Council of the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA) has approved the award of three new fellowships, a statement signed by the association’s President, Malam Denja Abdullahi, has said.

Abdullahi said in the statement made available to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Tuesday in Abuja, that the three new fellowships would be given to three deserving writers at its 35th International Anniversary Convention scheduled to hold from Oct. 27 to Oct. 30, 2016, in Abuja.

He said that two of the awards  would go to Dr Wale Okediran and Prof Jerry Agada, both past presidents and members of the ANA National Advisory Council, and a post-humous award to the late Elechi Amadi.

“ The fellowship is to be conferred on them for their dedicated service to the association and  proven contributions to the development of Nigerian literature.

“Justice Mustapha Akanbi Foundation in Ilorin is to be installed as an honorary corporate member of the association for its support to the activities of the association.”

Abdullahi added that Sen. Shehu Sani would be installed as a patron of ANA.

According to him, the investiture of fellows, honorary corporate member and patron will be held at the awards dinner of the convention on Oct. 29.

He noted that ANA  Fellowships were last conferred in 2006 at the association’s 25th Convention in Yenagoa, Bayelsa State.

Previous ANA fellows include Chinua Achebe, Wole Soyinka, John Pepper, Clark, Mabel Segun, Labo Yari and T. M. Aluko.

Others are Kole Omotoso, Femi Osofisan, Ken Saro Wiwa,  Odia Ofeimun, Abubakar Gimba, Mamman  Jiya Vatsa , Olusegun Obasanjo, Dora Akunyili and Olu Obafemi.