Home Entertainment Awilo Longomba, 2baba, Burna Boy, Wizkid win big at 6th All Africa...

Awilo Longomba, 2baba, Burna Boy, Wizkid win big at 6th All Africa Music Awards


Winners have emerged at the 6th All Africa Music Awards, AFRIMA held on Saturday, at the Eko Convention Centre of Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria. Winners were announced in the 36 categories of the awards ceremony, which comprise the Continental and Regional categories.

The Continental Category rewards African artistes in various music genres and forms, while the Regional Category celebrates the outstanding achievements of African artistes within their specific region of origin. Also, the 6th AFRIMA Legendary awards were announced; a recognition of individuals who have impacted positively to the world using their craft in the music, arts and culture industry.

Unlike others, this category is not open to public voting, but determined by the African Union, International Committee of AFRIMA and the AFRIMA Jury. This years’ Legendary awards recipients are international Congolese music veteran, Awilo Longomba; and Nigerian music icon, 2Baba.

Winners include:

Artist of the Year in Africa

· Aminux (Morocco) – ‘Bini W Binek’

· Burna Boy (Nigeria) – ‘Gbona’   WINNER

· Daphne (Cameroon) – ‘Ne Lâches Pas’

· Davido (Nigeria ) – ‘Wonder Woman’

· Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania) – ‘Kanyaga’

· Nasty C (South Africa) – ‘SMA’ ft. Rowlene

· Prince Kaybee (South Africa) – ‘Banomoya’ ft. Busiswa and TNS

· Tamer Hosny (Egypt) – ‘Naseny Leh’

· Wizkid (Nigeria) – ‘Fever’

Album of the Year in Africa

· African Giant – Burna Boy (Nigeria)

· Afrikan Sauce – Sauti Sol (Kenya)   WINNER

· Chulo Vibes – Timaya (Nigeria)

· Limpopo Champions League – Sho Madjozi (South Africa)

· Manyan-Nyan – Vusi Nova (South Africa)

· Naked – Nadia Nakai (South Africa)

· Omo Charlie Champagne – Simi (Nigeria)

· Poetic Trance – Aziz Sahmaoui (Morocco)

· Umqhele – Sjava (South Africa)

· Wilmer – Patorankin (Nigeria)

Producer of the Year in Africa

· Kel P (Nigeria) – ‘On the Low’ (Burna Boy) ‘Gbona’ (Burna Boy) ‘Killin Dem’ (Burna Boy ft. Zlatan) WINNER

· Mace (South Africa) – ‘Umama’ (Sjava)

· Nasty C (South Africa) – ‘SMA’ (Nasty C ft. Rowlene)

· Prince Kaybee (South Africa) – ‘Banomoya’ (Prince Kaybee ft. Buslswa and TNS)

· S2Kizzy (Tanzania) – ‘Tetema’ (Rayvanny ft. Diamond Platnumz)

· Salatiel (Cameroon) – ‘Anita’ (Salatiel) ‘Ne Lâches Pas’ (Daphne)

· Sarz (Nigeria) – ‘Trobul’ (Sarz & WurlD) ‘Bana’ (Niniola)

· Shizzi (Nigeria) – ‘Blow My Mind’ (Davido & Chris Brown)

· TH Productions (Eygpt) – ‘Naseny Leh’ (tamer Hosny)

· Vusi Nova (South Africa) – ‘Manyan-Nyan’

Song of the Year in Africa

· ‘Banomoya’ – Prince Kaybee (South Africa) ft. Busiswa & TNS

· ‘Blow My Mind’ – Davido & Chris Brown (Nigeria)

· ‘Fever’ – Wizkid (Nigeria)   WINNER

· ‘Iokote’ – Maua Sama and Hanstone (Tanzania)

· ‘Naseny Leh’ – Tamer Hosny (Egypt)

· ‘On The Low’– Burna Boy (Nigeria)

· ‘SMA’ – Nasty C ft. Rowlene (South Africa)

· ‘Tetema’ – Rayvanny (Tanzania) ft. Diamond Platnumz

· ‘Umama’ – Sjava (South Africa)