Home Headline Buhari, Osinbajo, Tinubu, others absent at APC rally in Ondo

Buhari, Osinbajo, Tinubu, others absent at APC rally in Ondo


APC National Chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun says Ondo  is a very important state to the Federal Government in spite of being governed by the PDP.
He said this on Thursday in Akure during a campaign rally of the APC governorship candidate in Ondo State, Rotimi Akeredolu.

President Muhammadu Buhari, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu and Governor Akinwumi Ambode amongst other party big wigs did not attend the rally, with some observers noting that the rift within the APC has not healed.
Oyegun said that the state would remain important to the Federal Government and therefore there was need for the APC to win the state in the coming gubernatorial polls slated for Nov. 26.
This, he said, needed the commitment and determination of all APC members in the state as it would not be easy to wrestle power from incumbent government.
Also at the event, Gov. Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun stressed the need for unity among party members, saying “where there are disputes, we must resolve them.
“We must not entertain malice; we should put all hands on deck to ensure that the party emerged victorious at the election.
“We should embark on house to house campaign ahead of the election to ensure that we win the election come Nov. 26,’’ he said.
Governors of Borno, Sokoto, Plateau and Ogun states as well as Ministers of Solid Minerals, Health and Labour and Employment, among others, were present at the campaign rally.
Members of the APC National Working Committee (NWC) and some members of the National Assembly were also present.
Some notable politicians in the state defected to the APC at the rally. They include Mr Gbenga Akereke, Pastor Peter Ojo, Mr Deji Ashiyeshrare and Mr Ben Orimoloye and several others.
The APC flag was handed over to party’s Governorship Candidate, Mr Rotimi Akeredolu by the Secretary to the Federal Government, Mr Babachir Lawal.
Akeredolu at the party`s primary, defeated Dr Segun Abraham, who polled 635, while Chief Olusola Oke came third with 583 votes, while Sen. Ajayi Boroffice came forth with 471 votes.
Akeredolu, a former President of Nigerian Bar Association, promised to create jobs through agriculture and entrepreneurship as well as regular payment of workers’ salaries, among others.