Home Sports CAF announces fixtures for 2016 Beach Soccer AFCON

CAF announces fixtures for 2016 Beach Soccer AFCON


The fixtures for the 2nd Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations, ‘Nigeria 2016’ have been released with 14 teams battling for the seven places for the final tournament.

This is contained in a statement on the website of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) on Monday.

The teams in contention are Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Egypt, Liberia, Libya, Kenya, Madagascar, Morocco, Mozambique, Senegal, Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.

The fixtures pit Senegal against Cape Verde, Uganda vs. Egypt, Liberia vs. Morocco, Tanzania vs. Cote D’Ivoire and Kenya vs. Ghana, Mozambique vs. Madagascar and Libya vs. Sudan.

All the qualifying matches would be played between Aug. 26 and Sept. 18.

There will be only one round of qualifiers where seven teams will emerge to join hosts Nigeria for the final tournament scheduled to hold from Dec. 13 to Dec. 18.

The finalists at the continental championship will qualify to represent Africa at the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup from April 27 to May 7, 2017 in the Bahamas.

Madagascar was crowned champions for the 2015 edition having beat Senegal 2-1 on penalties in the final in Seychelles.