Home Football CHAN: Yusuf names Ezenwa, Odey, 18 others to tackle Squirrels of Benin

CHAN: Yusuf names Ezenwa, Odey, 18 others to tackle Squirrels of Benin


Super Eagles’ coach Salisu Yusuf has listed a 20-man squad for the qualifiers against Squirrels of Benin on Aug. 13 in Cotonou.‎

This was announced in a statement by Media Officer of Super Eagles Ouwatoyin Ibitoye on Thursday in Kano.

The list has three goalkeepers, six defenders, six mid fielders and five strikers.‎

The full list has goalkeepers‎,Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC) and Dele Ajiboye (Plateau United)

‎It also has defenders ‎Orji Kalu (Rangers International); Stephen Eze (FC IfeanyiUbah); Ariwachukwu Emmanuel (Akwa United); Chima Akas (Enyimba FC); Nasiru Sani (Katsina United) and Osas Okoro (Rangers International)‎.

The midfielders include‎ Hafiz Aremu (Akwa United); Raphael Ayagwa (Lobi Stars); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Akwa United); Rabiu Ali (Kano Pillars); Samuel Mathias (El-Kanemi Warriors) and Alhassan Ibrahim (Akwa United)‎

The strikers include ‎Sikiru Olatubosun (MFM FC); Thomas Zenke (Nasarawa United); Stephen Odey (MFM FC); Kingsley Eduwo (Lobi Stars) and Ifeanyi George (Rangers International)‎.

The‎ first leg of the qualifiers against Republic of Benin in Cotonou will hold on Aug. 13, and the reverse fixture a week after the first leg.‎ ‎ ‎

‎The statement added that the team would fly from Kano to Lagos on Friday and then make the short trip to Cotonou by road same day.‎

The Confederation of African Football has appointed Algerian referee Mustapha Ghorbal to take charge of proceedings at the Stade de l’Amitie on Sunday, starting from 4 p.m.

He will be assisted by compatriots Mokrane Gourari (Assistant Referee 1), Mohammed Serradj (Assistant Referee 2) and Said Aquina (Reserve Referee).

‎‎The return leg will hold at the Sani Abacha Stadium, Kano, on Aug. 19 with the winner qualifying for the 5th African Nations Championship scheduled for Kenya early 2018.