Home Education FG approves 6 new private universities

FG approves 6 new private universities

Minister of Education Adamu

The Federal Executive Council (FEC) on Wednesday approved the establishment of six new private universities, including a Naval University in Delta.

The Minister of Education, Alhaji Adamu Adamu, announced this while briefing the State House correspondents at the end of the FEC meeting presided over by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.

According to him, the approvals are a result of the memo submitted to FEC by the ministry.

He said the  universities were Admiralty University in Ibusa, Delta state, owned by the Naval Holding Company, Spiritan University in Nneochi, Abia state and  Precious Cornerstone University in Ibadan.

Also approved are  PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Port Harcourt,  Atibe University in Oyo town, Oyo State and Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences, Lagos.

Adamu said  more applications were received by the ministry which would later present them to the Council for approval.

The minister said that FEC had directed the National Universities Commission (NUC) to look into the  quality of courses offered by new and existing universities in the country.

According to him,  government will withdraw the registration of any university that fails to met the standard set for courses being offered.