Home Education LAUTECH resident doctors resist transfer of 55 members

LAUTECH resident doctors resist transfer of 55 members


The Association of Resident Doctors (ARD), Ladoke Akintola University Teaching Hospital, Ogbomoso Chapter, Oyo State on Thursday rejected the purported transfer of 55 of its members by state government.

Dr Sebastine Oiwoh, the ARD Chairman, while reacting to the development in Ogbomoso, described the state government’s action as “illegal and unwarranted’’.

The transfer of 55 resident doctors to other hospitals and ministry was stated in a memo signed by A.M Ajiferuke, the Secretary, Board of Management.

The memo dated Dec. 27 stated that the directive was given by the Oyo State Government, the owner of the facility.

“Kindly find below the list of transferred staff as directed by the Oyo State Government and approved by the Board at its meeting held on Thursday, Dec.21, 2017,’’ the memo reads in part.

The ARD chairman said that the affected doctors have been instructed by the association not to collect the transfer letters, pointing out that the action was illegal.

According to him, we heard that some of our members have been transferred outside the hospital to other hospitals and the ministry across the state.

“I can tell you that the transfer is dead on arrival,’’ Oiwoh said.

He said that transfer of the doctors was against the medical practice.

The ARD chairman said that resident doctors could not be transferred according to the structure of their training.

“Resident doctors are not medical officers that can be transferred.

“If the hospital is not accredited for their training, then, they are allowed to go out as supernumerary in accredited institutions.

“But, this is not what Oyo State Government has done. This anomaly will be resisted within the legal ambits,’’ he said.