Home Metro Over 589,000 Kwankwansiyya members announce defection from Edo APC

Over 589,000 Kwankwansiyya members announce defection from Edo APC

Buhari and Oshiomhole

The gale of defection hitting the All Progressives Congress APC) across the country has finally hit the home State of the party’s National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, with over 589,000 members of the party announcing the withdrawal of their membership from the party.

The defectors, who are members of the Kwankwansiyya movement within the Reformed APC in Edo State, are led by the state Chairman, Chief John Osamede Adun and the State Coordinator, Harrison Omagbon.

The development is coming in the heels of speculations that Oshiomhole is being expected in the state to reconcile warring factions in the party.

Addressing newsmen in Benin City, Mr. Omagbon, said their decision to dump the APC was after, “critical evaluation, discussions, due consultations and after reviewing the unfolding political events in the country.

“We wish to inform the state leadership of the APC that…the 589, 137 members of the Kwankwansiyya movement from the 192 wards in Edo State hereby resign from the APC with immediate effect today 9th August 2018.”

Omagbon however said that leaders of the movement which national leader is former Kano State Governor, Senator Rabiu Kwankwanso, would soon decide on their next line of action.

There are indications, however, that they may be defecting to the PDP anytime soon.

Also present at the press briefing were a former APC National Assembly member for Ovia Federal Constituency, Isaac Osahon; a former APC Chairman for Orhionwon local government area of the State, Mr. Mathew Ehigie; and a former Council Chairman for Ovia North-East local government area, Mrs. Lucy Omagbon.