Home News 100 women at Birnin Kebbi Fulani settlement receive FG’s Rural Women Cash...

100 women at Birnin Kebbi Fulani settlement receive FG’s Rural Women Cash Grant


The Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development, Sadiya Umar Farouq, has launched the Federal Government Special Cash Grant at the Fulani settlement of Hutawa near Birnin Kebbi.

Spokesperson to the Minister, Nneka Ikem Anibeze, said about 247 Fulani women under the umbrella of Miyetti Allah Cattle Breeders Association of Nigeria (MACBAN) will receive N20,000 each to improve their economic wellbeing.

The Minister, who visited the
Fulani settlement located on the outskirts of Birnin Kebbi at the weekend, expressed happiness at the economic empowerment training being given to the Fulani women by the Kebbi state government.

“I am delighted to see that these Fulani women are being taught how the modern methods of yoghurt production using cow milk,” the Minister said. “This will go a long way in empowering them to be self reliant and able to provide for their families.

“I enjoin all the Fulani women who have received this training by the Kebbi state government to put it to practice as this will also improve the economic status of not just the women but the state and country at large”.

Among the recipients of the Federal Government’s Special Cash Grant For Rural Women was 65 year-old woman Baba Hauwawu, who could not contain her excitement when she was presented with the cash by Umar Farouq.

She expressed gratitude to President Muhammadu Buhari for the Grant and said that she will use the N20,000 to start a Fura business.

”May God bless and keep Baba Buhari for giving me this money. Now I will go and by cattle and start a rearing business, ” Hauwawu said.

Some other beneficiaries said they will use the grant for cattle rearing business.

The Federal Government’s Special Cash Grant for Rural women has so far been launched in 16 states including Plateau, Sokoto, Imo, Ebonyi, Nassarawa, Kebbi, Katsina, Bauchi, Taraba, Ekiti, Ondo, Adamawa, Gombe, Kano , Jigawa and Zamfara states.