Home News Mass defection hits APC in Edo, as Ojezua leads 150,000 factional members...

Mass defection hits APC in Edo, as Ojezua leads 150,000 factional members to PDP

R-L: Edo State Governor, Mr. Godwin Obaseki; National Vice Chairman, All Progressives Congress (APC), South-South Zone, Ntufam Hilliard Eta; and Chairman, APC, Edo State Chapter, Anselm Ojezua; during the APC South-South Zonal Executive meeting, in Benin City... in 2019

By Peterson Ibi/Benin

The crisis rocking the Edo state chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC), on Wednesday culminated in a mass resignation of factional members of the party.

The party was divided into two factions in the twilight of Governor Godwin Obaseki’s first term office, with Anslem Ojezua leading the faction loyal to the governor, while Col. David Imuse (rtd), led the faction loyal to former national chairman of party, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole.

But, following the disloution of all state chapters of the party by its national caretaker committee, the Imose faction was recognized and appointed into the state chapter’s committee.

Led by former factional chairman Anselm Ojezua, the aggrieved members cited loss of confidence in the national leadership of the party, alleging disobedience to the party constitution.

Ojezua who further announced their intention to join the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), in the state, said the resolution was reached at an enlarged meeting of the State Executive Council (SEC) of APC Committee members and the chairmen of all the local government area chapters and all leaders of the party in the state.

The resolution which was signed by 22 executive members of the of the party, led by Mr. Ojezua and chairmen of the party across the 18 LGAs, said over 150, 000 their members and supporters have concluded plans to defect with them.

“Having reviewed the said activities, particularly the romance between the National Caretaker Committee and leaders of a parallel group called the Edo Peoples Movement (EPM), who have been parading themselves as members of the All Progressives Congress in the state, inspite of their suspension from the party.

“It is hereby further resolved that all our members should join other leaders and members who have earlier relocated to the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), with His Excellency Mr. Godwin Nogheghase Obaseki and his Deputy, Philip Shaibu.

“Consequently, we encourage our teeming members and leaders at all levels of the party numbering over one hundred and fifty thousand (150,000) to also renounce their membership of the All Progressives Congress”, the resolution said.